It is perhaps one of my great regrets that I did not take any (Christian) Education classes while at Seminary.  To be fair, for sure, I was not sure on where God was leading me while I was there, so I simply earned a “basic” M.Div, and did not venture into any of the more specialized concentrations.  I defiantly now believe that is a mistake.  I have been afforded the great opportunity to lead two Sunday School classes while at my current church.  During this time I have gained a stronger and stronger passion for proper biblical education in our churches.

To be sure, the first and primary means of biblical education is, and should always be, the sermons.  Expository exegesis from the Word of God is the best and foremost means to educate the people about biblical principles.  Who can forget 2nd Timothy 3:16-17, “All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work”

However, I also believe that Churches are doing a disservice at leaving things at that, and treating Sunday School as some kind anathema.  Not all churches do this to be sure, many utilize this time Sunday mornings for true biblical education and nourishment.  But far too many churches do not.

Some churches use Sunday School as a social club.  Classes that have been together for 20, 30, 40+ years continue to stay together for no other reason but that.  “Leaders” with little discernment are allowed to bring in heretical and unbiblical “celebrities” to discuss in class (in particular I am thinking of people using people such as Rob Bell, in a positive way, in these classes).  Many churches have Sunday School participation rate that are statistically insignificant compared to attendance during the Worship Service.  Some classes contain no serious examination of biblical principles, and have superficial observations that contain no depth, no substance.  All of this (and more) is a really sad indicator of the state of Sunday School’s in our churches.

I wish I could go back and take a few classes in Christian Education, enabling me to know more about the state of affairs, and be better equipped to take a more active role in, one day God willing, leading a church down a more biblical path in its biblical education, and Sunday Schools.

